Society is in a Hurry

A couple days ago I was in the car with my parents.


There was a large truck in front of us, struggling to make a difficult turn. Multiple cars were already waiting behind it, some honking at times. It took five minutes before the cars that were waiting could race past us, and we saw pissed-off, annoyed faces driving by. It made me think, how bad could it be for those people to wait for five minutes? It wasn’t like an hour. But society is always in a hurry, everything has to be fast, fast, fast.

It’s not just that we can be everywhere quickly, with cars, trains and planes, but it is also the media. We are used to getting news immediately on our doorstep, through television news, but mostly through the internet.
And it is so tiring, people can get so exhausted by all the different impulses and all the information that rains on them every day. There is almost never a simple moment of rest.

There is one question that I’ve heard a lot. Why are so many people addicted to the internet, or to their phones? It is labeled the FOMO-‘syndrome’, and it is the best explanation I’ve heard in a while. FOMO stands for Fear Of Missing Out, and it simply means that people spend enormous amounts checking their phones and their social media websites, in fear that they are missing out on the possible joy they could be having, or important news they need to know.

It is hard to tell somebody in this hurried society that it is also okay to turn that thing off once in a while and just be ‘ignorant’ for a second. 

I can get headaches from the constant updates and notifications, but I am also afraid of missing out sometimes. Turning your phone and your social media off is hard, there might be people wanting to talk to you, or you miss important news, facts you need to know, etc.
It is okay to stand still. Even if you have to wait for five minutes on a truck, or if you forgot your phone at home. Take a break of society once in a while!

-xxx- Mary


My name is Mary, and this is my blog. I’m 16 years old and I love to write about my personal experiences and things that happen in my life to somehow help you get through yours.

Feel free to leave comments.

Twitter: @marywriteslife

Kiwi (ask me anything!): QueenMerel

One thought on “Society is in a Hurry

Leave a comment